Tractor, farming, vinyard, MONA (Tom Wakefield)Tasmanian farmers have been recognised among the best in the industry, with three locals being named as finalists in the 2014 Australian Farmer of the Year awards.

Senator Richard Colbeck, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, congratulated the three Tasmanian finalists who have been recognised for their innovation, professional management strategies and sustainable farming businesses.

“It’s great to see Tasmanian famers at the leading edge of the industry,” Senator Colbeck said.

“Having leaders in the agricultural industry is essential for growth and innovation and I’m pleased to hear of Tasmanians doing so well in their chosen fields. I congratulate the finalists on their nominations and wish them all the best.”

The Tasmanian finalists are bee keeper Lindsay Bourke, who is a finalist in the 2014 Biosecurity Farmer of the Year category; Nigel and Rachel Brock from Montana, who are finalists in the Dairy Farmer of the Year category; and Danny Jones of Pure Foods Eggs, who is a finalist in the inaugural Egg Farmer of the Year category.

Tasmanian farmers received significant recognition at the 2013 Australian Farmer of the Year awards, with Tim Reid of Reid Fruits receiving the major award, Australian Farmer of the Year, as well as being named Rural Leader of the Year.

Huon Aquaculture’s Peter and Frances Bender won the 2013 Biosecurity Farmer of the Year Award and the Frampton family at Gawler won the 2013 Dairy Farmer of the Year.