Businesses and individuals in the transport industry have been recognised at the 2018 TTA Gala Dinner and Awards Night.

Tasmanian Transport Association Chairman John de Bruyn congratulated those recognised for their outstanding achievements.

Tasmanian Freight Logistics Committee Chairman Brett Charlton, of Agility Logistics, received the NTI Award for Most Valued Contribution to the Transport Industry.

“This is recognition of the impact Brett has had, often working behind the scenes, to ensure Tasmania is considered federally in such decisions around the Tasmanian Freight Equalisation Scheme and Coastal Shipping reform, for the benefit of all sectors of the industry and the Tasmanian economy” said Shane Fairhall of insurance company NTI.

Brett, a Tasmanian Business Reporter columnist, has represented Tasmania on international trade missions to China, Korea and Japan and is a Board member of the Australian China Business Council.
Kerri Connors, of Caltas, was awarded the NTI 2018 Professional Driver of the Year Award following success in the Australian round of the Volvo fuel challenge, where she was the country’s most fuel-efficient driver before finishing third at the the global FuelWatch Challenge in Gothernburg, where she was the only woman on the world stage.

Fonterra Farm Milk Cartage Tasmania was recognised for its innovative program designed to increase diversity and create a strong succession plan for farm milk cartage tanker driving roles within their business.

The Gallagher Insurance 2018 Transport Industry Young Achiever Award was taken out by Seton Broomhall.

Adam Smith of CJD Equipment was awarded the BPW Transpec 2018 Transport Industry Apprentice of the Year.

Trainer of the Year award went to Paul Baxter, of Baxter’s Training Australia.

Deputy Premier and Minister for Infrastructure Jeremy Rockliff announced a grant of $22,000 to the Tasmanian Transport Association to conduct a program of consultation leading to a Heavy Vehicle Rest Area Strategy for Tasmania.